THE SITE WAS REDONE SOME MEMBERS WHERE LOST IF YOU CAN'T LOG IN MOST LIKELY YOU HAVE TO RE REGISTER SORRY

Thread: fried PCM maybe? HELP!!

Thanks

Question fried PCM maybe? HELP!!

Hey there, I'm a newbie here and really need some help. My local dealer is being an ass about my issue. I hope someone here can help. Here goes...I've got a '96 Grand Cherokee Laredo, automatic, 4.7 liter straight 6. Bought it from an older gentleman in November of '09. Hear me out before saying,' well duh, there's your problem'. I had a 1000 watt stereo system professionally installed in December. I also had a 40 farad capacitor installed to help protect the charging system just in case. I discovered after everything went to sh** that 40 farads was overkill. Anyway, about a month after the install, things started going all wonky. I was heading north to visit family when it hit the fan. While I was driving I heard a chime go 'bing' and looked at the gauge cluster. The 'check gauges' light comes on and the batt. indicator dropped to zero, so I killed anything electrical just is case; the stereo,lights, and the heater; it was a damn cold drive home. I wasn't pushing the stereo. It was low enough that I was able to carry on a conversation at normal volume, so I know the stereo wasn't pulling any juice. I turned around and made the 2 1/2 hour drive without incident. Got home, turned it off, waited about 30 sec. then went to start it: dead. I disconnected the whole stereo, bought a new batt. and put it in. Started right up. Ran for about a week then while going to the store it happened again, same thing. Battery indicator went to zero, 'check gauges' comes on. I go home, turn it off, wait 30 sec., and try to start it. It starts. Indicator is normal. Within 5-10 mins. it happens again. Every time it would start, drive about 10 mins. then the indicator dies and the gauge light comes on. About 3 weeks ago, the lights and all started dimming while driving. Got it home just as it died. This tells